MacTelChat     

Welcome to MacTelChat

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access. By joining our free community you will be able to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact support.

Go Back   MacTelChat > Apple > Hardware > Laptops

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Is this a scam?
Old
  (#1 (permalink))
JPT
Moderator
 
JPT's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 132
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right behind you!
Is this a scam? - 06-05-2006, 01:27 AM


WARNING, THE FOLLOWING WEBSITE HAS BEEN DEEMED A SCAM. DO NOT BUY ANY PRODUCTS THEY HAVE FOR SALE! I wouldn't even recommend visiting the website just in case

Or just a really cheap wholesale price???

http://www.internationalewholesale.c...?productID=611

Thats 1,422.16 in USD Thats over $875 in savings!!!

Also they require a minimum order of 1500 Euros (
1,941.14 USD)


  Send a message via Yahoo to JPT Send a message via MSN to JPT  
Old
  (#2 (permalink))
Moderator
 
Bernie's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 107
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Virginia
06-05-2006, 06:54 AM


The 60 Gig iPod is about $206.00.


   
Old
  (#3 (permalink))
JPT
Moderator
 
JPT's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 132
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right behind you!
06-05-2006, 10:19 AM


Yeah all the prices there are just amazing! The Mac Mini Duo is 322
The iMac is 775... So far I like this place lol


  Send a message via Yahoo to JPT Send a message via MSN to JPT  
Old
  (#4 (permalink))
Administrator
 
javester's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 209
Join Date: Mar 2006
06-05-2006, 08:56 PM


Hmmmm... you know what they say. If its too good to be true, it usually is...

I'll only believe it when I see it. Regardless, better use your Amex or a credit card with a very strong buyer protection policy.

The site also doesn't have a good feel to it and doesn't give me the warm & fuzzies... buyer beware!


   
Old
  (#5 (permalink))
JPT
Moderator
 
JPT's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 132
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right behind you!
06-05-2006, 08:57 PM


Yeah I was thinking the same, I just want it to be true sooooo badly!

Also they guy said he gets his products from a friend who gets it straight from the manufacturer...


  Send a message via Yahoo to JPT Send a message via MSN to JPT  
::Sniff Sniff:: Smells rotten.
Old
  (#6 (permalink))
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2006
::Sniff Sniff:: Smells rotten. - 06-12-2006, 08:54 PM


Hmmm,

I just got an email from this guy (the owner of internationalewholesale.net), and I dont get a good vibe from this either. I buy ipods wholesale and sell them on ebay and he initiated contact with me by emailing me and saying he got my email address from one of my ads on ebay. Reasons why i dont trust this:

1)There's a minimum transaction of 1500 Euros ($1888 USD).

2) He deals only in cash. He accepts "credit cards" via Moneygram (in other words "cash advance")

3) He initiated contact with me. If this were legit, there would be people beating down his door to buy from him. He wouldn't have to solicit business.

4) It is an international transaction.

5) The site looks cheap and canned... easy/quick set up so you can move on to your next scam easily.

6) After google-ing several different ways, this is the ONLY website I've found referring to this site.

7)There's just no way some random guy (not even a official company) can get these prices. He couldnt even get these prices if he were buying 100,000 ipods at a time. I know, I buy ipods wholesale.

8) If he were getting these kind of discounts, why doesnt he sell them on ebay himself directly... why give up those HUGE profit margins?

Anyway, as much as it would be nice to score some goods at those prices, theres no way it can be legit. Dont fool yourself and get stuck chasing the pot of gold. Here's the email I received from him:

-------------------
BEGIN EMAIL
-------------------

Hello
I\'m sorry for disturbing you ,my name is Valentino and i own a electronics business in Italy.I got your email from one of your ebay actions,and i was wondering if you\'re interested to resell/buy my products,i have very good prices:

AURORA 7500-custom configuration - ONLY 999 euro (~ 1280 us$) Apple IMac 20\'\'-2.0 ghz intel core duo -ONLY 599 EURO ( ~ 770 us$)

LAPTOPS:
Apple IBook G4 14\'- 1.42 ghz- ONLY 499 EURO (~ 600 us$) Sony VAIO BX540 - ONLY 999 euro (~ 1280 us$)

CAMERAS:
Sony Cyber Shot DSC-R1 10.3MP(body only)- 399 euro (~510 us$) Nikon D200 10.2MP(body only)- 549 euro (~ 700 us$)

MP3 Players:

Apple Ipod Nano 4gb- only 99 euro (~ 125 us$)

For more models please check out my website www.i nternationalewholesale.net For orders please make them from my website or just email me back.
All products are brand new,with warranty from manufacturer,delivery time you can find it on the website also Thank you for your time, Valentino

------------------
END EMAIL
------------------

If anyone finds out anything more about this, lemme know!


   
Old
  (#7 (permalink))
JPT
Moderator
 
JPT's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 132
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right behind you!
06-12-2006, 10:28 PM


A while ago I checked the about us page and read that they were in business since 2000 yet their domain was registered earlier this year! I am pretty sure that this is a scam... I also googled it a while ago and didn't find anything but didn't think anything of it.

I didn't know he only accepted cash :S

Yeah deffinately a scam... I will edit the first post a bit so onlookers don't go OMGZ LOOK AT THEM PRICES!!!!! lol


  Send a message via Yahoo to JPT Send a message via MSN to JPT  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Copyright © 2006-2007 MactelChat.com
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com